Relationship Music Choices: My Next Girl, by The Black Keys

Music has the ability to shape the identity of a person. It has the ability to evoke moods and emotions, bring up memories from the past, and influence decision making. Therefore, it is important to choose good music! Particularly, the lyrics are important in shaping romantic ideas that affect a person’s world view on relationships. 

Here’s to music that may or may not improve the male conceptions of love, My Next Girl, by the Black Keys.

Lyrics to: My Next Girl, by the Black Keys: 

The look of the cake
It ain't always the taste
My ex girl she had
Such a beautiful face

I wanted love
But not for myself
But for the girl
So she could love herself

My next girl
Will be nothing like my ex girl
I made mistakes back then
I'll never do it again
With my next girl
She'll be nothing like my ex girl
That was a painful dance
Now I got a second chance

A beautiful face
And a wicked way
And I'm paying for her
Beautiful face every day
All that work
Over so much time If I think too hard
I might lose my mind

My next girl
Will be nothing like my ex girl
I made mistakes back then
I'll never do it again
With my next girl
She'll be nothing like my ex girl
That was a painful dance
Now I got a second chance

Several Important Lyrics for Relationships and Healthy Identity Formation: the whole song, read it over men. The artists warn of a beauty mesmerizing a man in a hurtful way, “A beautiful face, And a wicked way, And I’m paying for her, Beautiful face every day.” If that’s ever been the case, heed the warning of “My next girl, Will be nothing like my ex girl, I made mistakes back then, I’ll never do it again.” Learn from your mistakes.

This entry was posted in For Men, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

